THE DATAI

The 5 * "The Datai Langkawi" hotel is located at the north-western tip of the island of Langkawi in Malaysia, on the beautiful Datai bay, by the Andaman Sea, in the heart of a tropical forest of 10 million years.
The 5-star hotel, member of "The Leading Hotels of the World" and comprising 121 rooms, suites and villas, was designed in 1991 by the Australian architect Kerry Hill and by the French architecture and interior architecture design agency. DL2A .
This large 37,000m² project, on one of the most renowned sites in Asia, was awarded the "Aga Khan Prize for Architecture" in 2001. In order to find the original DNA of Datai, its Managing Director, Arnaud Girodon has chosen to call on the designer from the start, Didier Lefort (DL2A) .
After a complete renovation for an investment of € 55M and twelve months of work, it re-opened in early 2019. All the rooms, restaurants and public spaces have been renovated and redecorated with a new touch of modernity, which already originally characterized "the Datai". New spaces have been built such as, a fitness center, new pavilions in the spa, new conference rooms. The restaurants have been expanded. A 5 bedroom Villa with two connected swimming pools, the "Datai Estate Villa" has also been created.
The new "Nature Center", inspired by tribal "long houses", was built from bamboo. Managed by a team of naturalists and marine biologists, it offers customers the opportunity to participate in environmental activities and scientific research.
"Didier Lefort brings an unrivaled knowledge of the structure, history and environment of this exceptional domain, with a deep link to the original vision of the project which is perfectly integrated into this 10 million year old virgin forest "Said Arnaud Girodon, General Manager of the hotel.
With the renovation of the hotel "The Datai Langkawi", in Malaysia, one of the most exclusive resorts in Asia that he had helped to design and build in 1993, Didier Lefort, founder of DL2.A (Didier Lefort Architectes Associés ) is the winner of the “Versailles 2019 Prize” in the interior architecture category of the East Asia and Pacific region.

Place: 
Langkawi - Malaysia
Category: 
Hôtel 5 *
Work: 
Interior Design - Architecture (renovation and extension)
Area: 
37 000 m2
Program: 
121 Rooms, Suites, Villas; 4 Restaurants, Conference, SPA
Year: 
1999 / 2018
Status: 
Completed
Awards: 
Aga Khan award 2001; Versailles UNESCO award 2019; Condé NAST Traveller Hot List 2019; Condé NAST Traveller Gold List 2020

Langkawi - Malaysia

THE DATAI

L’hôtel 5* « The Datai Langkawi » est situé à la pointe nord-ouest de l’île de Langkawi en Malaisie, sur la superbe baie de Datai, au bord de la mer d’ Andaman, au cœur d’une forêt tropicale de 10 millions d’années.
L ‘hôtel, 5 étoiles, membre de « The Leading Hotels of the World » et comprenant 121 chambres, suite et villas, a été conçu en 1991 par l’architecte australien Kerry Hill et par l'agence française d'architecture et d'architecture intérieur DL2A.
Ce vaste projet de 37 000m², sur l’un des sites les plus renommés d’Asie, a été en 2001 Lauréat du Prix « Aga Khan d’architecture ». Afin de retrouver l’ADN d’origine du Datai, son Directeur Général, Arnaud Girodon a choisi de refaire appel au designer de la première heure, Didier Lefort (DL2A) .
Après une rénovation complète pour un investissement de 55M€ et douze mois de travaux, il a ré-ouvert début 2019. Toutes les chambres, restaurants et espaces publics ont été rénovés et re-décorés avec une nouvelle touche de modernité ce qui déjà, à l’origine, avait caractérisé « le Datai ». De nouveaux espaces ont été construits comme, un centre de remise en forme, de nouveaux pavillons dans le spa, de nouvelles salles de conférences. Les restaurants ont été agrandis. Une Villa de 5 chambres avec deux piscines connectées, la « Datai Estate Villa » a aussi vu le jour.
Le nouveau « Centre de la nature », inspiré par les « long houses » tribales a été édifié en bambou. Géré par une équipe de naturalistes et de biologistes marins, Il offre aux clients la possibilité de participer à des activités environnementales et de recherche scientifique.
«Didier Lefort apporte une connaissance inégalée de la structure, de l’histoire et de l’ environnement de ce domaine exceptionnel, avec un lien profond de la vision originelle du projet qui est parfaitement intégré dans cette forêt vierge vieille de 10 millions d’années », s’est félicité Arnaud Girodon, General Manager de l’hôtel.
Avec la rénovation de l’hôtel « The Datai Langkawi », en Malaisie, un des plus exclusifs resort d’Asie qu’il avait contribué à concevoir et réaliser en 1993, Didier Lefort, fondateur de D.L.2.A (Didier Lefort Architectes Associés) est Lauréat du « Prix Versailles 2019 » dans la catégorie architecture d’intérieur de la zone Asie de l’ Est et Pacifique.

Lieu: 
Langkawi - Malaisie
Catégorie: 
Hôtel 5 *
Mission: 
Architecture Intérieure - Architecture (rénovation et extensions)
Surface: 
37 000 m2
Programme: 
121 Chambres, Suites, Villas; 4 Restaurants, Conférence, SPA
Année: 
1999 / 2018
Statut: 
Achevé
Awards: 
Prix d'architecture Aga Khan 2001; Prix de Versailles 2019

Langkawi - Malaisie